The world number one was punished for an illegal drop on the 15th hole during his second round but many people suggested that he should have been disqualified for breaking the rules.
However, Woods was quick to dismiss those claims shortly after his third round on Saturday evening.
"I got a text from my agent this morning saying 'Call me,'. It's never a good thing when that happens," said Woods. "They called me in, I got a two-shot penalty, time to play. I made a mistake, I took an improper drop and I got the penalty."
When asked if he considered withdrawing from the event, Woods replied: "No. Under the rules of golf I am abiding by the rules. They made the determination that nothing had happened on Friday and after what I said, things changed."