The Englishman bogeyed the first hole of the course, but soon went back level with a birdie on the second.
He managed to keep par for the next two holes, but dropped successive shots on five and six.
Donald pulled one shot back on the seventh, but ended the back nine two-under with another bogey.
He soon went three-under with a bogey on the 11th, before yet another dropped shot saw Donald go down to four-under on the 13th.
A birdie on the 17th was scant consolation on a tough day, while par on the final hole saw Donald end on three-over.
There was some controversy over his score at the end of the round as he was down as one-over on the official leaderboard. The outcome for an incorrect score is disqualification from the competition, but officials later ruled that a smudge on Donald's scorecard had been the cause of confusion.