Result: Felipe Massa claims pole position for Austrian Grand Prix

Felipe Massa of Brazil and Williams is interviewed in the paddock during previews to the Australian Formula One Grand Prix at Albert Park on March 13, 2014
© Getty Images
Felipe Massa claims pole position for Sunday's Austrian Grand Prix.

Williams's Felipe Massa has claimed pole position for Sunday's Austrian Grand Prix.

The Brazilian, who last started a race in pole five years ago, finished ahead of teammate Valtteri Bottas in qualifying as Williams set up a one-two.

Nico Rosberg clocked the third-fastest time, but Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton struggled in Q3 as he had to settle for ninth.

Fernando Alonso of Ferrari clinched fourth spot in qualifying, one position ahead of Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo, but Sebastian Vettel failed to qualify for Q3 and will start tomorrow in 13th place on the grid.

1. Felipe Massa (Williams)
2. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
3. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
4. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
5. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
6. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
7. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
9. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
10. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
11. Sergio Perez (Force India)
12. Jensen Button (McLaren)
13. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
14. Pasto Maldonado (Lotus)
15. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
16. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
17. Adrian Sutil (Sauber)
18. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
19. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
20. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham)
21. Max Chilton (Marussia)
22. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)

Valtteri Bottas of Finland and Williams attends the drivers press conference during previews for the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix at the Yas Marina Circuit on October 31, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Bottas quickest in final practice
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0