Result: Lewis Hamilton wins United States Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel is forced to wait for a third successive Formula 1 world championship as Lewis Hamilton wins the United States Grand Prix.

Sebastian Vettel will have to wait to clinch his third successive Formula 1 World Championship following a second-placed finish at the United States Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton is happy after winning the US Grand Prix on November 18, 2012© AP Photos

McLaren's Lewis Hamilton won the contest at the Circuit of the Americas in Texas, while Vettel's title rival Fernando Alonso came in third for Ferrari.

The result means that the Drivers' Championship will be decided at the final race of the season in Brazil next weekend.

However, Red Bull secured the Constructors' title for a third year in a row thanks to Vettel's performance.

Ferrari's Felipe Massa finished in fourth place and Jenson Button capped an impressive day for McLaren by crossing the line in fifth.

Vettel's fellow Red Bull driver Mark Webber was forced to retire from the race on lap 17 due to a mechanical issue.

United States Grand Prix:

1. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren
2. Sebastian Vettel - Red Bull
3. Fernando Alonso - Ferrari
4. Felipe Massa - Ferrari
5. Jenson Button - McLaren
6. Kimi Raikkonen - Lotus
7. Romain Grosjean - Lotus
8. Niko Hulkenberg - Force India
9. Pastor Maldonado - Williams
10. Bruno Senna - Williams

Championship leader Sebastian Vettel in Austin, Texas on November 17, 2012
Read Next:
Live Commentary: United States Grand Prix - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole