Max Verstappen 'right for Toro Rosso'

Max Verstappen of Netherlands, who will drive for Scuderia Toro Rosso next season, looks on in the paddock before watching the action in the Scuderia Toro Rosso garage during practice ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on Augu
© Getty Images
Toro Rosso boss Franz Tost insists that 16-year-old Max Verstappen is the right driver to take the team forward.

Toro Rosso boss Franz Tost has defended the team's decision to award a drive to 16-year-old Max Verstappen by insisting that the teenager is the right person to take them forward.

Verstappen's promotion to motor sport's top tier has not been without criticism, but Tost is adamant that the youngster will perform well for the Italian outfit.

He was quoted by NBC Sports as saying: "Max Verstappen did, last week, a test in Adria. He finished by doing 396km without any problem.

"People were really impressed with his performance and now it's in the hands of the FIA whether he gets a superlicence to do the Friday P1 session in Suzuka and then we will see.

"We will prepare him step by step and I am convinced that he is the correct driver for us for 2015."

Verstappen will replace Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne next season when he becomes F1's youngest ever driver.

Lotus Team Principal Eric Boullier walks in the paddock following qualifying for the Korean Formula One Grand Prix at Korea International Circuit on October 5, 2013
Read Next:
Boullier backs F1 licence review
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0