Result: Sebastian Vettel wins first German Grand Prix

Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel celebrates after taking pole position during qualifying of the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 23, 2013
© PA Photos
Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel drives to victory for the first time in his career at the German Grand Prix.

Three-time world champion Sebastian Vettel has won the German Grand Prix for the first time in his career.

The Red Bull driver started the race second on the grid, but down the first straight he overtook Lewis Hamilton, who had begun in pole position. Vettel's teammate Mark Webber also managed to negotiate his way beyond the Brit.

Vettel came in early for a change of tyres, which cost him his lead. However, when his fellow competitors followed suit, he was able to regain his earlier advantage.

The remainder of the race went by without incident for the 26-year-old that allowed him to take the chequered flag.

He was followed closely by Kimi Raikkonen, who claimed second, while Romain Grosjean finished in third place.

Result in full:

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
2. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus)
3. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
4. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
5. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
6. Jenson Button (McLaren)
7. Mark Webber (Red Bull)
8. Sergio Perez (McLaren)
9. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
10. Nico Hulkenberg (Sauber)
11. Paul Di Resta (Force India)
12. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)
13. Adrian Sutil (Force India)
14. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
15. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)
16. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
17. Charles Pic (Caterham)
18. Giedo van der Garde (Caterham)
19. Max Chilton (Marussia)

Not classified: Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso), Jules Bianchi (Marussia), Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

Lewis Hamilton celebrates gaining pole position at the German GP on July 6, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: German Grand Prix - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0