Result: Sebastian Vettel wins Belgian Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel celebrates on the podium after winning the Belgium Grand Prix on August 25, 2013
© Getty Images
Sebastian Vettel tightens his grip on top spot in the standings by winning the Belgian Grand Prix.

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel extended his lead at the top of the standings thanks to his victory in Belgium this afternoon.

The German started the race second on the grid as a result of yesterday's qualifying, but he managed to gain the lead from Lewis Hamilton during the first lap, having got into the Mercedes driver's slip stream.

From that moment on Vettel held on to first spot, despite some late pressure from Ferrari's Fernando Alonso.

The Spaniard battled on for second spot, while Briton Hamilton took the final podium place.

Elsewhere, there was drama in the 38th lap when Pastor Maldonado was handed a 10-second penalty for causing a crash between Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta.

Result in full:

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
2. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
4. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
5. Mark Webber (Red Bull)
6. Jenson Button (McLaren)
7. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
8. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
9. Adrian Sutil (Force India)
10. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)
11. Sergio Perez (McLaren)
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
13. Nico Hulkenberg (Sauber)
14. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
15. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
16. Giedo van der Garde (Caterham)
17. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)
18. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
19 Max Chilton (Marussia)

Not classified: Paul Di Resta (Force India), Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus), Charles Pic (Caterham)

Ferrari's Spanish driver Fernando Alonso, Caterham F1 Team's Dutch driver Guido Van Der Garde and Red Bull Racing's German driver Sebastian Vettel drive during the second practice session at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit in Spa on August 23, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Belgian Grand Prix - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0