FIA confirms 20-race calendar for 2015

Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain and Mercedes GP (L) celebrates on the podium with second placed Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP after the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 30, 2014
© Getty Images
The FIA confirms the 20-race 2015 calendar as Formula 1 prepares for the return of the Mexican Grand Prix and the joint-longest ever season.

The FIA has confirmed the 20-race calendar for the 2015 season, which includes the return of the Mexican Grand Prix.

In the longest-ever Formula 1 season, the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez will host its first race in 13 years on November 1 - the third to last race of the year.

Abu Dhabi again concludes the calendar and falls four weeks later on what is the latest finish date since 1963, while Australia kicks off the campaign and is followed by the Malaysian GP a fortnight later.

In minor adjustments to this season's schedule, Japan has been moved to precede Singapore in late September, while the race in America comes the weekend prior to Formula 1's return to Mexico.

The British Grand Prix at Silverstone has been retained for the first week of July.

The 2015 FIA Formula 1 World Championship calendar:

March 15 Australian GP

March 29 Malaysian GP

April 5 Bahrain GP

April 19 Chinese GP

May 10 Spanish GP

May 24 Monaco GP

June 7 Canadian GP

June 21 Austrian GP

July 5 British GP

July 19 German GP

July 26 Hungarian GP

August 23 Belgian GP

September 6 Italian GP

September 20 Singapore GP

September 27 Japanese GP

October 11 Russian GP

October 25 U.S. GP

November 1 Mexican GP

November 15 Brazilian GP

November 29 Abu Dhabi GP

Ferrari Chairman Luca Cordero di Montezemolo talks to a friend in the paddock following qualifying for the Italian Formula One Grand Prix at Autodromo di Monza on September 7, 2013
Read Next:
Ferrari president confirms departure
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole