FIA confirms 19-race calendar

Mark Webber, Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso steer their cars at the beginning of the Brazilian GP at Interlagos on November 25, 2012
© PA Photos
The FIA confirms that the 2013 Formula 1 season will not include a 20th grand prix.

Formula 1's governing body has confirmed that there will not be a 20th race added to the 2013 calendar.

The FIA had hoped to add another grand prix in Europe after plans to host a race in New Jersey had to be postponed.

Turkey, Portugal and Austria had all been linked to the vacant slot, but the organisers could not reach a deal with a host circuit.

The 20th race would have taken place on July 21, leaving a three-week break between the German and Hungarian Grands Prix.

The new season gets underway in Australia next weekend.

Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP leads Sebastian Vettel of Germany and Ferrari and Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain and Mercedes GP into the first corner during the Spanish Formula One Grand Prix at Circuit de Catalunya on May 10, 2015
Read Next:
Di Resta: 'Pressure is on me'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0