New Formula 1 rule will ban drivers with more than 12 penalty points

F1 drivers at risk of ban in new rules
© AP Photos
The FIA announce changes to the Formula 1 regulations, resulting in drivers getting bans for accumulating more that 12 penalty points.

The FIA have announced that drivers will be banned from the next Formula 1 race if they have accumulated more than 12 points.

The new rule is part of a number of changes made to the regulations by the world governing body, including the new penalty-point system.

The points, which will be handed out with regards to infringements judged from a one to three level of severity, will remain on the driver's licence for one year.

The new regulations, which also includes four two-day post-race tests being permitted throughout the season, will be implemented in 2014.

Sergio Perez
Read Next:
Perez: 'I don't care about upsetting rivals'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole