Stefano Domenicali resigns as Ferrari team principal

Ferrari Team Principal Stefano Domenicali attends the official press conference following practice for the Australian Formula One Grand Prix at Albert Park on March 14, 2014
© Getty Images
Stefano Domenicali resigns as Ferrari team principal and is replaced by Marco Mattiacci.

Stefano Domenicali has resigned as Ferrari team principal.

The 48-year-old Italian, who had been in the role since 2008 when he took over from Jean Todt, has been replaced by Marco Mattiacci.

However, a poor start to the new season for Ferrari has seen Domenicali leave his position with the Scuderia.

Ferrari are currently in fifth place in the Constructors' Championship, 78 points behind Mercedes. The team has also failed to record a podium finish in the first three races of the campaign.

"There are special moments that come along in everyone's professional life when one needs courage to take difficult and very agonising decisions," Domenicali said in an official statement.

"This decision has been taken with the aim of doing something to shake things up and for the good of this group of people that I feel very close to."

The Formula 1 season continues this weekend with the Chinese Grand Prix.

Ron Dennis of McLaren is seen during practice for the Australian Formula One Grand Prix at the Albert Park Circuit on March 25, 2011
Read Next:
Dennis slams "disrespectful" Vettel
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0