Result: Lewis Hamilton quickest in practice one of Monaco Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes sits in his car during a practise session of the F1 Spanish Grand Prix on May 9, 2014
© Getty Images
Mercedes driver and championship leader Lewis Hamilton finishes fastest in the first practice session of the Monaco Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton has dominated the first practice of the Monaco Grand Prix by finishing fastest in the session.

The 29-year-old topped the timesheet ahead of his teammate Nico Rosberg, while Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo finished third fastest and Fernando Alonso followed in fourth in his Ferrari.

Last year's champion Sebastian Vettel finished the first practice in the fifth-quickest time slot, while Kimi Raikkonen ended the session sixth, two places behind his teammate Alonso.

Hamilton, who is on course to win his fifth consecutive race this season on Sunday, arrived at the track late via a boat, but managed to begin the session on time.

Sauber's Adrian Sutil suffered a slight crash into the barriers while going into Mirabeau, which ended his session in Monaco.

Full standings:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
4. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
5. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
6. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
7. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
8. Sergio Perez (Force India)
9. Kevin Magnussen (Mclaren)
10. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
11. Jenson Button (McLaren)
12. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
13. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus)
14. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
15. Felipe Massa (Williams)
16. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
17. Adrian Sutil (Sauber)
18. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
19. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
20. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham)
21. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)
22. Max Chilton (Marussia)

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes sits in his car during a practise session of the F1 Spanish Grand Prix on May 9, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Hamilton makes it four wins in a row
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0