Result: Nico Rosberg fastest in second practice

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes GP prepares to drive during practice for the Australian Formula One Grand Prix on March 14, 2014
© Getty Images
Nico Rosberg records the fastest time in the second practice session ahead of Sunday's Malaysian Grand Prix

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg has recorded the fastest time in the second practice session ahead of the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The German, who won the Australian Grand Prix two weeks ago, was marginally quicker than Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen, with Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel close behind in third.

Great Britain's Lewis Hamilton, who topped the standings earlier in the day, was fourth, ahead of Fernando Alonso and Williams driver Felipe Massa.

Daniel Ricciardo finished in seventh while McLaren's Jenson Button was in eighth place as the rest of the field posted significantly slower times than the top seven.

Full standings

1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
3. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
4. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
5. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
6. Felipe Massa (Williams)
7. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
8. Jenson Button (McLaren)
9. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
10. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
11. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
12. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
13. Adrian Sutil (Sauber)
14. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
15. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
16. Sergio Perez (Force India)
17. Romain Grosjean (Lotus Renault)
18. Max Chilton (Marussia)
19. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
20. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes GP prepares to drive during practise for the Australian Formula One Grand Prix on March 15, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Hamilton fastest in Malaysian practice
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0