Lewis Hamilton dedicates win to Malaysia Airlines victims' families

Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain and Mercedes GP prepares to drive during practice for the Brazilian Formula One Grand Prix at Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace on November 22, 2013
© Getty Images
Lewis Hamilton dedicates his win at the Malaysian Grand Prix to the families of those who have been affected by the disappearance of Flight MH370 earlier this month.

Lewis Hamilton dedicated his victory at the Malaysian Grand Prix to the families of those who have been affected by the disappearance of Flight MH370.

The British driver led from start to finish to bring home Mercedes their first one-two since the 1955 Italian Grand Prix, with Nico Rosberg finishing second.

In a post-match interview conducted by 'Sherlock' star Benedict Cumberbatch, Hamilton thanked his team for their efforts in the warm Sepang conditions, but was quick to point out that his thoughts were still with the victims of the Malaysia Airlines plane which went missing on March 8.

He said: "That was just incredible after such a difficult weekend and a long winter. I just feel so grateful, particularly after the tragedy three weeks and I would like to dedicate the win to the families.

"Today you are sweating before you even got in the car so you just have try to keep cool and keep your focus. But the team were absolutely spot on with all their instructions today so big thanks to them."

The victory is Hamilton's first since the Hungarian Grand Prix of 2013.

Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain and Mercedes GP (L) celebrates on the podium with second placed Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP after the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 30, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Hamilton wins from pole in Malaysia
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0