Result: Nico Rosberg clinches pole position for German Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes GP prepares to drive during practice for the Australian Formula One Grand Prix on March 14, 2014
© Getty Images
Mercedes's Nico Rosberg will start on pole position at this weekend's German Grand Prix at the Hockenheimring.

Nico Rosberg has secured pole position for tomorrow's German Grand Prix at the Hockenheimring after setting the fastest lap time in qualifying this afternoon.

The German, who currently leads the drivers' championship, was 0.219 seconds faster than Williams's Valtteri Bottas, while his teammate Felipe Massa completes the top three.

The red flag was brought out early on when Lewis Hamilton suffered a brake failure, resulting in his Mercedes spinning and colliding heavily with the barriers.

The Briton had already posted a fast enough lap time to ensure that he progressed to Q2, but had to undergo medical checks which prevented him from taking part in the remainder of the session.

McLaren's Jenson Button narrowly missed out on a place in the top 10 after Sergio Perez set a quick time late in Q2, but Kevin Magnussen managed to claim fourth in the sister McLaren.

1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
3. Felipe Massa (Williams)
4. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
5. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
6. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
7. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
8. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
9. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
10. Sergio Perez (Force India)
11. Jenson Button (McLaren)
12. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
13. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
14. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
15. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
16. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
17. Adrian Sutil (Sauber)
18. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
19. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus)
20. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham)
21. Max Chilton (Marussia)
22. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes GP prepares to drive during practice for the Australian Formula One Grand Prix on March 14, 2014
Read Next:
Rosberg tops standings in third practice
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0