Result: Lewis Hamilton claims German Grand Pole pole

Lewis Hamilton celebrates gaining pole position at the German GP on July 6, 2013
© AP Photos
Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton secures his third pole position of the 2013 season at the German Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton has taken pole position for tomorrow's German Grand Prix at the Nurburgring.

The Mercedes driver, who also started last weekend's British Grand Prix at the head of the field, achieved the feat with the very last lap of the third qualifying session.

It appeared that champion Sebastian Vettel had claimed first spot at his home GP with a time of 1:29.501, but Hamilton knocked him into second thanks to a 1:29.39 lap.

Elsewhere, Vettel's Red Bull teammate Mark Webber took third spot, while Fernando Alonso will have to make do with eighth. McLaren's Jenson Button is a place further back than the Spaniard.

Grid for German GP

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
3. Mark Webber (Red Bull)
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus)
5. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
6. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)
7. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
8. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
9. Jenson Button (McLaren)
10. Nico Hulkenberg (Sauber)
11. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
12. Paul Di Resta (Force India)
13. Sergio Perez (McLaren)
14. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
15. Adrian Sutil (Force India)
16. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
17. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
18. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)
19. Charles Pic (Caterham)
20. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
21. Giedo van der Garde (Caterham)
22. Max Chilton (Marussia)

Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel enters turn two during qualifiying for the Australian Grand Prix on March 17, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Vettel fastest in final practice
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0