Result: Mercedes's Nico Rosberg quickest in second practice in British Grand Prix

Result: Rosberg sets pace in second practice
© AP Photos
Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg clocks the fastest time in the second practice ahead of the British Grand Prix on Sunday.

Mercedes Formula 1 driver Nico Rosberg has set the fastest time in the second practice of the day at Silverstone ahead of the British Grand Prix.

All of the teams carried out a timed lap in the afternoon session following the earlier practice, in which just 11 drivers took to the circuit due to puddles of water covering the track.

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel was quick out onto the Silverstone circuit with intermediate tyres at the start of the second session after the wet weather cleared up.

However, it was Rosberg who clocked a time of 1:32.248, while Mark Webber secured the second-fastest time in his Red Bull, with teammate Vettel placing the third quickest.

Lewis Hamilton, who was the last Brit to win the race in 2008, managed to claim the fifth-quickest time out on the track, which managed to escape further rain.

Despite the drier conditions, the session didn't finish without some controversy as Felipe Massa smashed the nose of his Ferrari into the wall due to his cold tyres and too much throttle.

Second practice full standings:

1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2. Mark Webber (Red Bull)
3. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
4. Paul di Resta (Force India)
5. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
6. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)
7. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
8. Adrian Sutil (Force India)
9. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
10. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
11. Jenson Button (McLaren)
12. Nico Hulkenberg (Sauber)
13. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus)
14. Sergio Perez (McLaren)
15. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
16. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
17. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)
18. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
19. Giedo van der Garde (Vaterham)
20. Charles Pic (Caterham)
21. Max Chilton (Caterham
22. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

Second place Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso celebrates on the podium spraying champagne to the winner Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel on June 9, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Vettel claims first victory in Canada
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole