Result: Nico Rosberg secures pole position at Belgian Grand Prix

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg will start the Belgian Grand Prix from pole position after posting the fastest time in qualifying at Spa.

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg has put his car on pole position for tomorrow's Belgian Grand Prix at Spa.

The current drivers' championship leader finished just ahead of teammate Lewis Hamilton in qualifying this afternoon.

Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP celebrates after claiming pole position during qualifying ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on August 23, 2014© Getty Images

A heavy shower shortly before the start of the session left the longest track on the Formula 1 calendar in a wet condition for qualifying.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo tried to split the Mercedes cars late on, but struggled to match their pace in the damp conditions, running wide on his final lap to finish fifth.

Current world champion Sebastian Vettel will start from third, alongside Ferrari's Fernando Alonso on the second row.

Sauber's Esteban Gutierrez failed to progress from the first part of qualifying, having broken down after setting only one flying lap.

Andre Lotterer, who is replacing Kamui Kobayashi for just one race, outqualified Caterham teammate Marcus Ericsson on his F1 debut.

1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
3. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
4. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
5. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
6. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
7. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
9. Felipe Massa (Williams)
10. Jenson Button (McLaren)
11. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
13. Sergio Perez (Force India)
14. Adrian Sutil (Sauber)
15. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
16. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
17. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus)
18. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
19. Max Chilton (Marussia)
20. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
21. Andre Lotterer (Caterham)
22. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes celebrates after qualifying in pole position for the F1 Chinese Grand Prix on April 19, 2014
Read Next:
Hamilton tops second practice
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0