Michael Schumacher set for 300th race

Michael Schumacher
© PA Photos
Michael Schumacher will add another accolade to his legendary CV this weekend as he becomes only the second driver to take part in 300 races.

Michael Schumacher will become only the second F1 driver to reach 300 races when he takes part in the Belgian Grand Prix this weekend.

Former Ferrari team-mate Rubens Barrichello is the only other man to have hit the triple century of races, taking part in 326.

The seven-time world champion is delighted to get his chance to reach the milestone at Spa-Francorchamps, a track that he considers to be the best in the world.

"Spa is like my living room. For me, it's clearly the number one race track in the world. It's uncanny how I always seem to have special moments there - my debut, my first win, a world championship victory and many great races," said Schumacher.

"The fact I will also take part in my 300th grand prix at Spa was somehow almost inevitable and we will have to celebrate it in the right way. I'm proud to be just the second driver in the history of the sport to reach this milestone, and there's no question we are looking to have a particularly nice weekend.

"We delivered a good performance in Spa last year, so I'll be doing everything possible to drive a strong race again."

Schumacher currently sits 12th in the driver rankings, while his team Mercedes are fifth in their championship.

You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0