Mercedes hoping for incident-filled Belgian Grand Prix

Michael Schumacher
© PA Photos
Mercedes chief Ross Brawn says that an incident-filled Grand Prix holds the best chance for his two drivers getting into the mix this afternoon.

Mercedes chief Ross Brawn has said that an incident-filled Belgian Grand Prix holds the best chance for his two drivers getting on the podium.

Neither Michael Schumacher or Nico Rosberg managed to get into the final part of qualifying yesterday, with Schumacher finishing 13th and Rosberg 18th.

"It's always eventful racing here and last year we had a Safety Car that came out at a very opportune time for us, so we'll be looking to take the benefit if we can of any of those events," Brawn said.

"And I think how you're able to use the tyres over a longer run will obviously be very important. I think what drivers have been able to do in qualifying won't necessarily translate into what can be done in the race. Because a race has more consistent conditions and tyre temperatures can build up.

"I think we're optimistic about tomorrow. Michael's obviously got a history of being able to have good races in these circumstances, particularly here, and we're optimistic that he will do the same tomorrow."

Jenson Button starts on pole at the famous Spa-Francorchamps racetrack, his first qualifying victory since joining McLaren.

Michael Schumacher
Read Next:
Schumacher set for 300th race
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0