Result: Nico Rosberg takes Bahrain Grand Prix pole

Nico Rosberg
© PA Photos
Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg claims pole position ahead of Sebastian Vettel for tomorrow's Bahrain Grand Prix.

Nico Rosberg will start tomorrow's Bahrain Grand Prix in pole position as a result of his performance during qualifying this afternoon.

The 27-year-old had never previously set the quickest time in qualification anywhere else other than in China, but he will now lead the grid on Sunday afternoon.

The Mercedes driver headed into the third qualifying sector with the quickest time and he went on to ensure that he held on to that position by posting a time of 1:32.330.

He was followed by three-time world champion Sebastian Vettel, who finished 0.254 seconds behind his fellow German.

Third was Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, while Lewis Hamilton managed to post the fourth-fastest time. However, a gearbox change at the end of the final practice session resulted in a five-place grid penalty for Rosberg's Mercedes teammate, which means that he will begin the race in ninth.

Grid for Bahrain GP

1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
3. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
4. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
5. Paul di Resta (Force India)
6. Adrian Sutil (Force India)
7. Mark Webber (Red Bull)
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus Renault)
9. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
10. Jenson Button (McLaren)
11. Romain Grosjean (Lotus Renault)
12. Sergio Perez (McLaren)
13. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)
14. Nico Hulkenberg (Sauber)
15. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
16. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
17. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)
18. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
19. Charles Pic (Caterham)
20. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
21. Giedo van der Garde (Caterham)
22. Max Chilton (Marussia)

Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen walks away after the third free practise session ahead of the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 23, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Raikkonen fastest in Bahrain P2
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0