Result: Nico Rosberg wins Austrian Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg speaks to the media after qualifying for the Singapore Formula One Grand Prix on September 21, 2013
© Getty Images
Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg edges out his teammate Lewis Hamilton to win the Austrian Grand Prix.

Nico Rosberg has extended his lead at the top of the world championship by winning the Austrian Grand Prix this afternoon.

The German could only qualify in third spot yesterday, but he gained the lead in the 27th lap and managed to hold on to that advantage throughout the remainder of the race.

Meanwhile, Rosberg's Mercedes teammate, Lewis Hamilton, was able to finish in second spot, despite having started in ninth.

Further back, Valtteri Bottas was third, with Felipe Massa fourth.

Austrian GP result

1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
3. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
4. Felipe Massa (Williams)
5. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
6. Sergio Perez (Force India)
7. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
8. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
9. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
10. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
11. Jensen Button (McLaren)
12. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus)
13. Adrian Sutil (Sauber)
14. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
15. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
16. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham)
17. Max Chilton (Marussia)
18. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)
19. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)

Retired: Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso), Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull), Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)

Felipe Massa of Brazil and Williams is interviewed in the paddock during previews to the Australian Formula One Grand Prix at Albert Park on March 13, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Massa takes Austrian pole
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0