Lewis Hamilton: 'Mercedes debut is unpredictable'

Lewis Hamilton during a press conference on February 4, 2013
© PA Photos
Lewis Hamilton is not surprised by the change of attitudes of many towards his chances of success this season.

Lewis Hamilton says that his debut season at Mercedes is unpredictable amid changes in performance expectations surrounding the British driver.

Hamilton swapped proven winners McLaren for the Silver Arrows in the off-season, a move which prompted many to predict that the 28-year-old would suffer, with the latter team only registering a solitary victory since returning to the sport in 2010.

However, these attitudes have changed after the 2008 world champion and teammate Nico Rosberg topped the timesheets on the final weekend of testing at Barcelona to dramatically cut the odds on a victory in Melbourne.

"First people were talking us down and saying we were going to do terrible and now all of a sudden they've changed their opinions," Hamilton told Sky Sports News. "People are all over the place!"

"I don't think anyone knows what is going to happen. I think what we have to make people remember is that this team and this car have struggled for the last couple of years and that doesn't change with a click of the fingers.

"We have to keep working, but we've done a good job over the winter, and I'm really proud of the team and grateful to have been part of that journey."

The season gets underway with the Australian Grand Prix on Sunday.

Lewis Hamilton during a press conference on February 4, 2013
Read Next:
Hamilton settled at Mercedes
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0