Kimi Raikkonen: 'Drivers boycott won't happen'

Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen walks away after the third free practise session ahead of the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 23, 2013
© PA Photos
Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen says that he does not expect Formula 1 drivers to boycott this weekend's German Grand Prix.

Kimi Raikkonen has said that he is "sure" that no drivers will boycott the German Grand Prix this weekend, despite concern over tyre safety.

The Grand Prix Drivers' Association announced that its members would not take part in the Nurburgring race if the tyre failures which happened at the British Grand Prix continued.

The Finn, who is not a member of the GPDA, told Sky Sports News: "I'm sure it's not going to happen anyhow. I was once involved, I think it was in 2005 [at the United States Grand Prix], and funnily enough there were some guys that didn't stop. They drove, so for sure I'll race this time.

"The problems are not always just because of the tyres. A lot has influenced what's happened. I haven't had a single problem all year.

"I think the reason they explode is because they're being used wrong. I'm fine with it, we've got no issues."

Lewis Hamilton suffered a tyre failure while leading the Silverstone race last Sunday, while Felipe Massa, Sergio Perez and Jean-Eric Vergne also had tyre problems.

Bernie Ecclestone
Read Next:
Pirelli given tyre test green light
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0