Kimi Raikkonen hoping for more wins

Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen celebrates with champagne after winning the Australian Formula One Grand Prix on March 17, 2013
© AP Photos
Kimi Raikkonen is hoping for more races like the Australian Grand Prix in 2013 after opening the Formula 1 season with a win.

Kimi Raikkonen has said that he hopes that he can secure more wins in the 2013 Formula 1 season, after starting the campaign with victory at the Australian Grand Prix earlier today.

The Finn made a two-stop strategy work, finishing ahead of Ferrari's Fernando Alonso and reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel.

Speaking after the race, the 2007 champion told reporters: "I knew the car was quite good. In a way I was pretty confident but of course you have to get through the start and the first lap and you never know what it going to happen and there is a lot of question marks but I felt we had a good chance.

"We got it exactly right, the team worked extremely well. We had a plan and we followed the plan and it worked out perfectly for us. I could save the tyres and I could go fast when I wanted. It was one of the easiest races to win. Hopefully we can have more races like this.

"It feels good but it's only one race. It doesn't change our aim and work for this year. We are happy with the win but there is a lot to do to win the championship."

The win is Raikkonen's second since returning from a two-year absence from F1 last season.

Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen on the podium after winning the Australian Formula One Grand Prix on March 17, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Raikkonen wins Australian GP
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0