Sergio Perez joins Force India

Sergio Perez of Mexico and McLaren walks in the paddock following practice for the Japanese Formula One Grand Prix at Suzuka Circuit on October 11, 2013
© Getty Images
Former McLaren driver Sergio Perez will race for Force India for the 2014 Formula 1 season.

Force India have revealed that Mexican driver Sergio Perez will join the team for the 2014 Formula 1 season.

Perez was released from McLaren at the end of the previous campaign after picking up just 49 points during the 2013 season, which resulted in him finishing the year in 11th position in the drivers' rankings.

However, after solid performances in the final two races in USA and Brazil, Force India have opted to sign the 23-year-old on a multi-year contract.

Perez joins Nico Hulkenberg in a new-look lineup at Force India, with previous drivers Adrian Sutil and Paul di Resta losing their seat in Formula 1.

Adrian Sutil of Germany and Force India prepares to drive during practice for the Belgian Grand Prix at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on August 23, 2013
Read Next:
Sutil: 'The car is a carrot'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0