Force India to finish second practice early

Bahrain Grand Prix
© PA Photos
Force India will cut the second practice in Bahrain short in order to return to their hotel before dark following the team's bomb scare yesterday.

Force India have decided to cut the second practice in Bahrain short in order to return to their hotel before dark.

The team made the choice to alter their original schedule due to yesterday's bomb scare, where four mechanics were caught up in an incident between police and protesters in capital city Manama.

A selection of staff flew home due to the controversy in Bahrain and the team were advised by their in-house security to only operate in the daylight hours.

In order for Force India to be back to the hotel in time, they have had to cut the second practice of the day short, which is due to take place at 12pm UK time.

"We're going to limit [participation in the second practice session]," said team principal Bob Fernley.

"We are looking at it from the point of view of the wellbeing of everybody, and the comfort of everybody is in place, and that's the key objective for us. But the team is absolutely fully committed to racing here. We will be there for qualifying and the race."

Meanwhile, McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton set the pace in the first practice on the track ahead of the Grand Prix on Sunday.

Lewis Hamilton
Read Next:
Hamilton fastest in first Bahrain practice
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull72
4Force India53
5Toro Rosso21
1Sebastian VettelFerrari104
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes98
3Valtteri BottasMercedes63
4Kimi RaikkonenFerrari49
5Daniel RicciardoRed Bull37
6Max VerstappenRed Bull35
7Sergio PerezForce India34
8Esteban OconForce India19
9Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes18
10Carlos SainzToro Rosso17
11Nico HulkenbergRenault14
12Romain GrosjeanHaas5
13Kevin MagnussenHaas4
14Pascal WehrleinSauber4
15Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
16Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes0
17Marcus EricssonSauber0
18Jolyon PalmerRenault0
19Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
20Fernando AlonsoMcLaren0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0