Fernando Alonso: 'Kimi Raikkonen competition will help Ferrari'

Fernando Alonso smiles as he prepares for the final qualifying session of the Belgium Grand Prix on August 24, 2013
© Getty Images
Fernando Alonso insists that he and his new Ferrari teammate Kimi Raikkonen can work together to make the Italian outfit championship contenders once again.

Fernando Alonso has hinted that his friendly competition with the returning Kimi Raikkonen will help Ferrari become title contenders again.

Raikkonen has rejoined the Italian outfit to race alongside Alonso for the 2014 season - the first time in six decades that two world champions have been Ferrari teammates.

"There is not any way of preparing anything, or any way to answer the question straight away, but we will follow wherever the team priority is and we will try to do our best to win both Championships and bring back to Ferrari some of the success Ferrari had in the past," Alonso told reporters.

"The best way to achieve that is to race each other at 100 per cent level at every race and try to always bring back the points to the team and to ourselves.

"To do that, we need to work in perfect harmony and follow what the team priority is and the team will tell us."

Ferrari have not won a constructors' title since 2008, with Red Bull victors in each of the last three years.

Fernando Alonso smiles as he prepares for the final qualifying session of the Belgium Grand Prix on August 24, 2013
Read Next:
Alonso 'hoping to emulate Schumacher'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0