Fernando Alonso: 'I would help Felipe Massa win Formula 1 title'

Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso at F1 qualifying in Austin, Texas on November 17, 2012
© AP Photos
Fernando Alonso says that he would play a supporting to help Ferrari teammate Felipe Massa become world champion.

Fernando Alonso has said that he would support teammate Felipe Massa in a bid to win the Formula 1 drivers' title.

The Spaniard has consistently scored more points than his Ferrari colleague since joining the Italian team in 2010.

The two-time world champion told Autosport.com: "Sure, it is not the first time I have helped him and surely it will not be the last. We help each other continuously, for the good of Ferrari.

"Felipe is one of the best drivers in the world. I have been repeating this for three years, and at times people look surprised when I say this during press conferences.

"These last few seasons there was a gap that I never had [with teammates] in the past, and points-wise it was something strange, because usually we should have been on a more equal level as far as points are concerned."

Massa supported Alonso towards the end of the 2012 season, including taking a controversial gearbox penalty to move his teammate higher up the grid at the US Grand Prix.

The Brazilian signed a one-year contract extension with Ferrari during the 2012 season, ensuring he will drive alongside Alonso during 2013.

Pedro de la Rosa
Read Next:
Development role for De la Rosa
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0