Fernando Alonso backs Ferrari gamble

Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso crashes and ends up on the gravel during the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 24, 2013
© AP Photos
Fernando Alonso says that Ferrari were right not to call him into pit for emergency repairs during the first lap of the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Ferrari racer Fernando Alonso has stood by his team's refusal to call him into the pits for emergency repairs during the Malaysian Grand Prix last month, insisting that it was worth the risk.

The Spaniard badly damaged his car on the second corner of the first lap after driving into the back of Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel before the front wing detached itself and the 31-year-old was sent flying into a gravel trap and out of the race.

However, Alonso is adamant that staying out on the track was the right thing to do at the time.

"Once you've seen the result, in hindsight, it's easy to say it would've been better to come in for a pit-stop," Alonso said during a Twitter Q&A on Ferrari's website. "But it's a decision that has to be made in a matter of seconds, during which we thought that I could hold on for another lap to make the most of the pit-stop and also switch to dry tyres.

"In any case, the race simulations state that if I would have stopped to change the nose, I would have finished ninth or tenth, so we didn't lose anything.

"The problem wasn't not coming in; the damage was done in the collision and it's something that we will try to avoid in the future."

The next race in the Formula 1 calendar is the Chinese Grand Prix on Sunday.

Fernando Alonso sits in his team's pit on November 23, 2012
Read Next:
Alonso pledges future to Ferrari
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0