Result: Fernando Alonso fastest in first practice session in China

Fernando Alonso smiles as he prepares for the final qualifying session of the Belgium Grand Prix on August 24, 2013
© Getty Images
Fernando Alonso finishes fastest in the first practice session ahead of the Chinese Grand Prix.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso has finished with the fastest time in the first practice session ahead of the Chinese Grand Prix.

The Spaniard was just under a second quicker than his closest rival, Nico Rosberg, as he clocked a time of 1:39.73.

Alonso's teammate Kimi Raikkonen was unable to enjoy similar success as the team battled problems in his car throughout the session, which ended without the former world champions recording a time.

There was also some frustration for Mercedes, who despite seeing Rosberg finish second quickest were forced to bring in Lewis Hamilton before the end of the session due to troubles with his suspension.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo completed the top three in the opening practice, but his teammate Sebastian Vettel could only record the ninth-fastest time.

1. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
4. Jenson Button (McLaren)
5. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
6. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
7. Jean-Eric Vergne (Torro Rosso)
8. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
9. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
10. Felipe Massa (Williams)
11. Daniil Kvyat (Torro Rosso)
12. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
13. Felipe Nasr (Williams)
14. Giedo van der Garde (Sauber)
15. Sergio Perez (Force India)
16. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus)
17. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham)
18. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
19. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
20. Max Chilton (Marussia)
21. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)
22. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)

Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain and Mercedes GP (L) celebrates on the podium with second placed Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP after the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 30, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Hamilton wins from pole in Malaysia
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0