Ferrari president blasts Felipe Massa penalty

Felipe Massa of Brazil and Ferrari attends the drivers parade before the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix at the Yas Marina Circuit on November 3, 2013
© Getty Images
Ferrari supremo Luca Di Montezemolo criticises the Formula 1 stewards at the Brazilian Grand Prix after Felipe Massa picked up a drive-through penalty.

Ferrari president Luca Di Montezemolo has blasted Formula 1 officials for their decision to hand a drive-through penalty to Felipe Massa at the Brazilian Grand Prix on Sunday.

Massa was penalised by the stewards after being judged to have illegally crossed the white line of the pit entrance, which saw him drop from fourth place and subsequently see the Italian outfit narrowly lose out on second place in the constructors' championship to Mercedes.

However, Di Montezemolo branded the decision as "disproportionate and unjust".

He told RAI Television: "Every so often, the gentlemen who come to the races to act as stewards make decisions that are a bit ridiculous and anachronistic.

"One needs to be careful that we maintain credibility, for the work of the teams that invest money and for the drivers who risk their lives."

The Ferrari supremo was also critical of the steward's choice to penalise Lewis Hamilton over a collision with Williams driver Valtteri Bottas.

Red Bull Racing's German driver Sebastian Vettel walks off the circuit after winning the qualifying session for the United States Formula One Grand Prix at Circuit of The Americas on November 16, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Vettel wins again in last race
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0