Luca di Montezemolo: 'Time for Ferrari to win'

Ferrari Chairman Luca Cordero di Montezemolo talks to a friend in the paddock following qualifying for the Italian Formula One Grand Prix at Autodromo di Monza on September 7, 2013
© Getty Images
Luca di Montezemolo says that his Ferrari team need to return to winning titles in 2014.

Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo has said that his sole aim for the 2014 Formula 1 season is for his team to be a title-winning one again.

The Scuderia have not won the driver's crown since 2007, while Red Bull have dominated both championships over the past four years.

However, speaking at the launch of the constructor's new car for the forthcoming campaign, Di Montezemolo said that the Marinello-based outfit have the ingredients to return to the top of the sport.

He said: "I'm confident because we have a strong team [and] two very strong drivers.

"I very pleased to have Kimi [Raikkonen] back as he was the last driver to win the world championship with us, while Fernando [Alonso] has had some fantastic seasons, finishing second in the past four years. Now it is time to win."

The season begins at the Australian Grand Prix on March 16.

Fernando Alonso smiles as he prepares for the final qualifying session of the Belgium Grand Prix on August 24, 2013
Read Next:
Alonso: 'Raikkonen competition will help Ferrari'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0