Fernando Alonso: '10 drivers can take Australia victory'

Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso at F1 qualifying in Austin, Texas on November 17, 2012
© AP Photos
Fernando Alonso says that any of 10 drivers could win the Australian Grand Prix on Sunday.

Ferrari racer Fernando Alonso believes that any of 10 drivers are in with a shot of winning the opening race of the Formula 1 championship in Melbourne this Sunday.

The Spaniard, who was pipped by Sebastian Vettel to the title last year after finishing just three points behind the German, feels that anyone from five teams could claim victory in the Australian Grand Prix.

"Nobody knows who can win this race, we will just have to wait and see," said Alonso. "These are questions that winter testing didn't answer.

"This year, there is some consistency through the grid and I expect the five top teams to have a little advantage, but of those five teams, it is very difficult to say after winter testing which of them will have the extra two or three tenths which could make them win.

"I think Mercedes, Ferrari, McLaren, Lotus and Red Bull all showed potential at different times during testing, so it's hard to choose. It's very close and difficult to choose one favourite."

The F1 season gets underway in Australia on Sunday.

Sebastian Vettel
Read Next:
Live Commentary: German Grand Prix Qualifying - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0