Caterham 'keen to keep Marcus Ericsson'

Marcus Ericsson of Sweden and Caterham drives during final practice ahead of the Hungarian Formula One Grand Prix at Hungaroring on July 26, 2014
© Getty Images
Caterham have revealed that they are looking to keep Swedish driver Marcus Ericsson with the team in 2015.

Caterham boss Manfredi Ravetto has hinted that he would like to keep Swedish driver Marcus Ericsson with the team next season.

The 24-year-old's debut season with the perennial F1 backmarker has been difficult amid constant speculation regarding the future of the constructor.

However, Ericsson enjoyed a promising 15th-place finish at last weekend's Singapore Grand Prix and Ravetto has indicated that his drive at the Marina Bay circuit may earn him a new contract.

He told Autosport: "I saw a strong Ericsson in Singapore who did the best race of his season. I am sorry for the opportunities he missed in free practice and qualifying due to technical issues, because without them I am sure he would have started in a better position.

"Even so, the fact is he superbly managed to keep both Marussias behind him and did a really fantastic race on a very difficult track.

"We are really very happy with the progress he made and our doors are open for him for next year."

Caterham are one of two teams yet to score a point in this year's constructors' championship.

Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP celebrates after claiming pole position during qualifying ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on August 23, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Rosberg secures Belgium pole
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0