Result: Swansea City secure tight victory over St Gallen

Wayne Routledge scores in the second half to hand Swansea City a 1-0 win over St Gallen at the Liberty Stadium.

Wayne Routledge scored the only goal of the game as Swansea City beat St Gallen 1-0 in the Europa League on Thursday night.

Swansea looked bright in the early stages of the contest but it was St Gallen who had the chance to take the lead when Dwight Tiendalli was punished for handling the ball inside the box.

Goran Karanovic scuffed his penalty to allow Gerhard Tremmel to make a routine save to his right.

The visitors had another opportunity to break the deadlock just moments later but Marco Mathys fired an effort wide after sprinting away from a couple of Swansea defenders.

Jordi Amat had the home side's best chance of the first half but his header was tipped against the post by Daniel Lopar.

Swansea's Wayne Routledge is congratulated by teammate Michu after scoring the opening goal against St Gallen during their Europa League group match on October 3, 2013© Getty Images

Michael Laudrup's men were ahead just seven minutes into the second half when Routledge tapped in from close range after Lopar had parried Wilfried Bony's shot.

A long pass over the top of the Swansea defence almost brought an equaliser for St Gallen but substitute Alhassae Keita lobbed his volley over the crossbar after controlling the ball with confidence.

Nathan Dyer's introduction injected more pace into the home side's attacks and the winger threatened to double his team's lead when he volleyed straight at Lopar.

Swansea were put under pressure in the closing stages, with Stephane Nater striking the post from long range but the hosts held firm to secure the win.

Swansea manager Michael Laudrup during the Barclays Premier League match between Swansea City and Arsenal at Liberty Stadium on September 28, 2013
Read Next:
Half-Time Report: Goalless at the Liberty Stadium
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Premiership
Scottish Championship
Scottish League One
Scottish League Two
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Belgian Pro League
Greek Superleague
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig