Michael Owen picks team of the year

Then Newcastle forward Michael Owen, during a game with Chelsea on April 4, 2009
© PA Photos
Former England centre-forward Michael Owen confirms who he has selected in his team of the season.

Stoke City striker Michael Owen has revealed the 11 players who he believes should be included in the Premier League team of the year.

Manchester United's Robin van Persie and Liverpool's Luis Suarez have been named up front, while Gareth Bale, Juan Mata and Michael Carrick have all been picked by the former England international.

The 33-year-old's more surprising selections are perhaps Sunderland goalkeeper Simon Mignolet and Swansea City winger Wayne Routledge.

"I went for Mignolet in goal. It was a toss up between him and @D_DeGea. @asmir1 could win it but you are not allowed to vote for team mates," he wrote on Twitter.

"Zabaleta and Baines were my full backs. Pretty happy with those picks! Centre Halves were tough to call. Loads of possibles. Went for Vertongen and Jagielka in the end. Happy to stand corrected. Distin maybe?

"Midfield was reasonably simple until it came to the right side. Carrick, Mata and Bale are in without hesitation. Routlage was my surprise pick on the right. Been very impressed every time I have seen him this season. Hazard was a possible too. Suarez and Van Persie up top. Michu and Benteke were possibles too but could only pick 2."

Owen also revealed that he had voted for Bale as his player of the season.

Michael Owen's team of the year: Mignolet; Baines, Vertonghen, Jagielka, Zabaleta; Mata, Carrick, Routledge, Bale; Van Persie, Suarez

Karim El Ahmadi, Ron Vlaar
Read Next:
Vlaar reveals Van Persie vote
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole