Aug 31, 2013 at 8pm UK at ​Jose Zorrilla
Real Valladolid
Valiente (47')
Sastre (59'), Manucho (90')
FT(HT: 0-0)

Lopez (60'), Escudero (90')

Result: Marc Valiente header seals Real Valladolid victory

Real Valladolid edge out Getafe by a single Marc Valiente header in this evening's La Liga clash at the Estadio Nuevo Jose Zorrilla.

Real Valladolid have edged out Getafe by a single goal to record their first win of the La Liga season.

Marc Valiente scored the only goal of the game just after half time to leave Luis Garcia Plaza's men in 17th place with one point from three matches.

The first opportunity came in the 13th minute when Antonio Rukavina drove into the box and forced a save from Miguel Moya. The resulting corner was swung in for Javi Guerra, but the striker headed over from close range.

Guerra then brought a spectacular save from Moya in the 33rd minute as the home side once again threatened to break the deadlock.

The teams went in level at the break but the hosts were ahead minutes after the restart, with Valiente finally beating Moya with a header.

Zakara Bergdich had a good opportunity to give his team some breathing space in the 55th minute but the 24-year-old saw his effort miss narrowly.

Hearts were in mouths for the home fans when Lafita sprung the offside trap two minutes later, but the winger fire wide of the target.

The 29-year-old Spaniard wasted another gilt-edged chance in the 78th minute which should have levelled the score.

Valladolid had the chance to put the game beyond doubt when Gilberto Garcia met Alvaro Rubio's cross but despite his miss, Juan Ignacio Martinez's men still managed to hang on for all three points.

Getate's Jaime Gavilan in action against Real Madrid on January 27, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Real Valladolid 1-0 Getafe - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

4Barcelona BBarcelona B00000000
7Cultural LeonesaLeonesa00000000
11Lorca FCLorca00000000
15Rayo Vallecano00000000
16Real Oviedo00000000
17Real Valladolid00000000
18Real ZaragozaZaragoza00000000
19Reus Deportiu00000000
20Sevilla AtleticoSevilla Atl.00000000
21Sporting GijonSporting Gijon00000000