May 18, 2014 at 5pm UK at ​Jose Zorrilla
Real Valladolid

Gonzalez (81')
FT(HT: 0-1)
Mitrovic (44' og.)
Piti (64'), Roberto (80')

Juan Ignacio Martinez "convinced" Real Valladolid will stay up

Valladolid's defender Jesus Jesus Rueda celebrates after scoring during the Spanish league football match Real Valladolid FC vs Villarreal CF at Jose Zorrila stadium in Valladolid on January 25, 2014
© Getty Images
Real Valladolid boss Juan Ignacio Martinez is "convinced" that his side will not be relegated from La Liga this evening.

Real Valladolid boss Juan Ignacio Martinez is "convinced" that his side will secure their La Liga status this evening.

The Castile and Leon side, who currently sit 18th, need to beat 17th-place Granada to stand a chance of moving out of the relegation zone in Spain's top flight and even then they will have to rely on other teams slipping up.

"After the match against Betis we were all devastated," he told reporters at a press conference.

"But there is no point in us looking back. Now is the time to look forward to this match with confidence and intent. I am absolutely convinced that we will stay up. To achieve that, we will count on the support of our fans, we have already demonstrated that we are a very capable team at Zorilla.

"It will be more of a dramatic match than a tactical one, as it usually is in a situation like this. We are going to go for them from the first minute. Not everything about this season will be negative, I am sure that Real Betis and Rayo Vallecano will do their job."

Osasuna, Getafe, Almeria are also in the relegation picture in La Liga.

Javi Guerra of Real Valladolid CF in action during the La liga match between of Real Valladolid CF and Club Atletico de Madrid on September 21, 2013
Read Next:
Match Analysis: Real Valladolid 1-1 Real Madrid
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

4Barcelona BBarcelona B00000000
7Cultural LeonesaLeonesa00000000
11Lorca FCLorca00000000
15Rayo Vallecano00000000
16Real Oviedo00000000
17Real Valladolid00000000
18Real ZaragozaZaragoza00000000
19Reus Deportiu00000000
20Sevilla AtleticoSevilla Atl.00000000
21Sporting GijonSporting Gijon00000000