May 18, 2014 at 5pm UK at ​Estadio Teresa Rivero
Rayo Vallecano
Trashorras (67')
Galeano (27'), Trashorras (89'), Ivan Martinez (90')
FT(HT: 0-1)
Marica (43', 90')
Lacen (23'), Lopez (25'), Rafa (39'), Alexis (59'), Valera (64'), Mosquera (76'), Leon (88')

Result: Getafe secure La Liga survival

Getafe's players celebrate their second goal during the Spanish league football match Villarreal CF vs Getafe CF at El Madrigal stadium in Villareal on October 31, 2013
© Getty Images
Getafe secure their survival in La Liga thanks to a 2-1 victory at Rayo Vallecano.

Getafe have secured their survival in La Liga with a 2-1 victory at Rayo Vallecano.

The result has seen Cosmin Contra's side finish the season three points above the drop zone, with Osasuna and Real Valladolid joining Real Betis in the Segunda Division next season.

It was the visitors who created the first meaningful chance of the match on 31 minutes when Angel Lafita shot narrowly wide of the post.

Getafe continued to press and they were awarded with the game's opening goal on 43 minutes as Ciprian Marica fired powerfully into the bottom corner.

Both teams struggled to threaten during a cagey second half, but Vallecano netted an equaliser with 67 minutes played thanks to Roberto Trashorras's impressive free kick.

Getafe posed more of a danger as the match wore on and they should have gone in front with seven minutes remaining. However, Marica somehow fired over the crossbar from close range.

Although a draw would have been enough to keep them in the top flight, Getafe sealed the win deep in added time when Marica scored from the penalty spot following a foul by Ruben Ivan Martinez.

Getafe's players celebrate after scoring a goal during the Spanish league football match FC Barcelona vs Getafe CF at the Camp Nou stadium in Barcelona on May 3, 2014
Read Next:
Contra delighted with Camp Nou point
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Lorca FCLorca11002023
2Rayo Vallecano11003213
3Barcelona BBarcelona B11002113
9Sevilla AtleticoSevilla Atl.10101101
14Reus Deportiu10100001
15Sporting GijonSporting Gijon10100001
16Real Oviedo100123-10
18Real Valladolid100112-10
21Real ZaragozaZaragoza100101-10
22Cultural LeonesaLeonesa100102-20