Sep 24, 2014 at 7pm UK at ​Estadio Teresa Rivero
Rayo Vallecano
Athletic Bilbao
Baptistao (39', 89')
Quini (18'), Trashorras (82')
FT(HT: 1-1)
Aduriz (20')
Gurpegui (79'), de Marcos (84')

Result: Leo Baptistao brace fires Rayo Vallecano to win

Rayo's Brazilian forward Leo Baptistao during the Spanish league football match Rayo Vallecano vs Athletic Bilbao at the Vallecas stadium in Madrid on September 24, 2014
© Getty Images
Leo Baptistao scores a brace, including an 89th-minute winner, to fire Rayo Vallecano to victory over Athletic Bilbao in their La Liga clash.

A late strike from Leo Baptistao handed Rayo Vallecano a 2-1 victory over Athletic Bilbao in their La Liga clash this evening.

The home side pressed early in the game and Emiliano Insua went close when he drilled an effort from just outside the area past the post after linking up with Abdoulaye Ba.

Bilbao hit back as they won a free kick just outside the penalty area, and Bernat lifted a free kick over the wall but his effort went wide of the target.

However, a minute later the visitors went ahead when Aritz Aduriz struck from close range after latching on to Oscar de Marcos's cross into the box.

Vallecano pulled level just before the break when Leo Baptistao raided forward into the box and drilled a low shot past Gorka Iraizoz.

Gael Kukuta almost fired his side ahead when he weaved his way past a defender, but his right-footed shot went just wide of the target.

The home side pressed again in the second half and Lica saw his effort from distance well saved by Iraizoz as he found space and time on the edge of the box to unleash a shot.

Arduriz should have scored his second of the game when he latched on to De Marcos's cross, but he could only head his effort straight at Tono.

The match looked to be ending in a draw until Baptistao struck again in the 89th minute from close range with a left-footed effort to fire his side to victory.

New generic football image
Read Next:
Result: Bilbao versus Shakhtar ends in stalemate
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Lorca FCLorca11002023
6Barcelona BBarcelona B00000000
15Rayo Vallecano00000000
16Real Oviedo00000000
17Real Valladolid00000000
18Reus Deportiu00000000
19Sevilla AtleticoSevilla Atl.00000000
20Sporting GijonSporting Gijon00000000
21Real ZaragozaZaragoza100101-10
22Cultural LeonesaLeonesa100102-20