"I'm quite sure their camp will say something different but it's a soft penalty. Cisse was stretching for the ball and his momentum would have taken him down anyway," Hughton told BBC Sport.
"I accept Seb didn't touch the ball. The double whammy is the pen itself. On the referee's side Bobby Zamora is at least three yards in the box which gives him an advantage."
However, Cisse has rejected Hughton's claims and insisted that he did feel contact from Bassong.
The QPR forward said: "I think it was a penalty. There's contact. I've not seen the video. The referee decided to agree with the goal. I don't know if Bobby was in or out because I was too busy trying to score my penalty."