Aug 3, 2013 at 3pm UK at ​The Den
YeovilYeovil Town

Morison (14')
FT(HT: 0-0)
Upson (88')
Seaborne (14'), Madden (20')

Result: Yeovil Town strike late to beat Millwall

Ed Upson scores the only goal of the game as Yeovil Town beat Millwall 1-0 in the Championship.

Yeovil Town have defeated Millwall 1-0 in today's Championship clash at The Den.

With just two minutes remaining, Ed Upson struck the winner to send the away fans into raptures and secure the club's first win in their first ever Championship match.

Yeovil's Edward Upson celebrates with team mates after grabbing a late winner against Millwall on August 3, 2013© Getty Images

The Lions started the better of the two teams and Josh Wright sent a 20-yard effort wide as the home side started to press forward.

Yeovil then had their first half-chance when Lions keeper David Forde was forced to smother the ball on the line.

Millwall continued their good start to the game with a slick passing move that set James Henry free, but his shot was blocked by Yeovil goalkeeper Marek Stech.

After 32 minutes the away side could have taken the lead, but a left-footed shot from Luke Ayling went just wide.

The second 45 minutes started with substitutes from both teams. Nicky Bailey came on for his Millwall debut in place of Wright, while Paddy Madden made way for Michael Ngoo for Yeovil.

It was the home side who produced the first noteworthy shot of the second half, as Marek Stech was forced to tip over Henry's drive.

There was little in the way of attacking threat from Yeovil, who were lucky not to fall behind when Henry shot wide of an open net.

However, with time running out, it was Gary Johnson's men who stole the three points through Upson's powerful shot.

James Henry
Read Next:
Half-Time Report: Goalless between Millwall, Yeovil
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Leeds UnitedLeeds85211431117
2Wolverhampton WanderersWolves8521138517
3Cardiff CityCardiff8521127517
4Preston North EndPreston843193615
5Ipswich TownIpswich7502128415
6Sheffield UnitedSheff Utd850386215
8Bristol City83411510513
9Sheffield WednesdaySheff Weds8341107313
10Nottingham ForestNott'm Forest84041113-212
11Queens Park RangersQPR83231212011
12Norwich CityNorwich8323812-411
13Aston Villa8242109110
15Derby CountyDerby73131111010
17Hull City82241415-18
19Burton Albion8224615-98
23Birmingham CityBirmingham8116412-84
24Bolton WanderersBolton8026416-122