Gareth Bale, Robin van Persie up for UEFA award

Spurs' Gareth Bale holds his PFA Player of the year and Young player of the year awards on April 28, 2013
© PA Photos
Gareth Bale joins Robin van Persie and eight other names on the shortlist for UEFA's 2012-13 Best Player in Europe award.

Gareth Bale and Robin van Persie are the Premier League representatives on UEFA's shortlist for their 2012-13 Best Player in Europe award.

Tottenham Hotspur star Bale has already picked up a treble of individual accolades for his performances last season, while Van Persie scored 26 goals to help fire Manchester United to the Premier League title.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi was the first winner of the award, introduced by UEFA president Michel Platini in 2011, and is again nominated alongside Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo.

Champions League winners Bayern Munich have four players on the 10-man list - Arjen Robben, Franck Ribery, Thomas Muller and Bastian Schweinsteiger.

Prolific strike duo Robert Lewandowski and Zlatan Ibrahimovic, of Borussia Dortmund and Paris Saint-Germain respectively, complete the selection of candidates.

The shortlist will be reduced to three players next month before the winner is announced at the draw for the Champions League group stage in August.

Christian Benteke celebrates scoring the winner for Aston Villa on November 27, 2012
Read Next:
Where next for Christian Benteke?
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole