Result: Huddersfield Town progress in FA Cup

Huddersfield's Adam Clayton celebrates his late equaliser on November 24, 2012
© PA Photos
A late strike from Sean Scannell allows Huddersfield Town to progress in the FA Cup at the expense of Leicester City.

Huddersfield Town have reached round five of the FA Cup courtesy of a 2-1 victory over fellow Championship side Leicester City at the King Power Stadium this evening.

Managerless Huddersfield started the tie the brighter of the two sides and went on to break the deadlock with five minutes on the clock. Former Leeds United midfielder Adam Clayton was the scorer, sending a free kick from 25 yards out over the wall and into the net.

Their advantage would only last for two minutes, though, as the hosts equalised almost immediately. The Huddersfield defence failed to clear a header from Ritchie de Laet and Manchester United loanee Michael Keane took full advantage to poke the ball in from close range.

Having drawn themselves level, Leicester began to dominate proceedings but they were unable to find the net before the break.

The Foxes continued to push forward after the restart but both Marko Futacs and David Nugent failed to score with headers from inside the Huddersfield penalty area.

Those misses were almost punished with 65 minutes played, but Kasper Schmeichel managed to palm clear Scott Arfield's shot with a full-stretch save.

However, with 15 minutes remaining, the Terriers went in front for a second time. Sean Scannell picked the ball up just inside the Leicester half, before going beyond Paul Konchesky and Matt James to the lift the ball into the goal.

That promoted a series of attacks from the home team, but their search was ultimately unsuccessful.

Huddersfield will now take on Wigan Athletic at home for a place in the quarter-finals.

Leicester debutant Chris Wood celebrates his first goal against Huddersfield on January 1, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Leicester ease past Burton
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Premiership
Scottish Championship
Scottish League One
Scottish League Two
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Belgian Pro League
Ligue 2
Greek Superleague
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig