Result: Millwall strike twice in second half to defeat Leeds United

Millwall score twice in the second half to defeat Leeds United 2-0 at the New Den.

Second-half strikes from Scott Malone and Martyn Woolford have given Millwall a 2-0 Championship victory over Leeds United.

The game was short on quality in the opening 25 minutes, with the only piece of action being a booking for Stephen Warnock for a foul on Woolford.

However, the home side came close to taking the lead in the 28th minute when Martyn Waghorn's effort beat Paddy Kenny, but not the post, and Woolford blazed his subsequent effort of the bar.

Leeds's best chance fell to Jason Pearce, but the central defender clumsily hooked the ball over the bar after Ross McCormack set up his teammate with a cushioned header.

Woolford broke the deadlock in the 65th minute after a counter-attack by the home side. Waghorn and Dave Martin combined well and the latter released the 27-year-old striker, who struck the ball into the bottom corner from the edge of the area.

Scott Malone of Millwall celebrates after scoring the teams second goal during the Sky Bet Championship match between Millwall and Leeds United at The Den on September 28, 2013© Getty Images

Millwall's second came 11 minutes later when Malone played an intricate one-two with Liam Trotter before calmly finishing from 15 yards.

The Leeds skipper Rodolph Austin should have scored when one-one-one with David Forde, but the Irish goalkeeper spread himself to deny the Jamaican.

With the game becoming increasingly stretched, Millwall came close to adding a third, but Woolford's chip rebounded back off the post as the game drew to a close.

Millwall defender Danny Shittu in action against Huddersfield on August 17, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Millwall 2-0 Leeds - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Premiership
Scottish Championship
Scottish League One
Scottish League Two
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Belgian Pro League
Ligue 2
Greek Superleague
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig