Shane Long: "I didn't dive"

Shane Long of Ireland celebrates scoring a goal during the International Friendly match between Republic of Ireland and Latvia at Aviva Stadium on November 15, 2013
© Getty Images
Shane Long says that he "didn't dive" to win a penalty during Hull City's 2-0 win over West Bromwich Albion at the weekend.

Hull City striker Shane Long has insisted that he "didn't dive" during Saturday's match against his former club West Bromwich Albion.

The Republic of Ireland international hit the ground inside the penalty following a challenge with Albion defender Craig Dawson and although Ben Foster saved Nikica Jelavic's penalty, Liam Rosenior reacted quickest to head in the rebound.

Some pundits have suggested that Long went down too easily, but the 27-year-old has been adamant that there was contact with Dawson.

"He clipped me. I didn't dive, he clipped my heel. He didn't mean to do it and I thought it was a soft penalty. I got up straight away and tried to play on, but the referee judged it to be a penalty," the Express & Star quotes the centre-forward as saying.

Long has scored four goals for Hull since his January switch from the Baggies.

Shane Long of Hull City scores the second goal during the Barclays Premier League match between Hull City and West Bromwich Albion at the KC Stadium on March 22, 2014
Read Next:
Bruce plays down Long dive claims
>
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole



Premier League
Championship
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Premiership
Scottish Championship
Scottish League One
Scottish League Two
La Liga
Bundesliga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Major League Soccer
Tables