PFA Scotland's player of the year shortlist announced

Hibernian's Leigh Griffiths celebrates scoring the winning goal in extra time during the Scottish Cup Semi Final on April 13, 2013
© Chris Clark / PA Photos
Hibernian striker Leigh Griffiths is included on the shortlist for the PFA Scotland's player of the year.

Hibernian striker Leigh Griffiths has been included on the shortlist for the PFA Scotland's player of the year.

The on-loan Wolverhampton Wanderers forward has also been joined by Motherwell's Michael Higdon, Aberdeen's Niall McGinn and Inverness Caledonian Thistle's Andrew Shinnie.

Griffiths has also been included in the young player of the year section alongside Celtic midfielder Victor Wanyama and Dundee United duo Stuart Armstrong and Gary Mackay-Steven.

"This is the top award for players. There is no greater honour in football than to be voted the best player in your country by your fellow professionals," said SPFA chief executive Fraser Wishart.

The winners will be announced on May 5.

Celtic's Kris Commons is congratulated by team mates after scoring his team's second against Dundee United on February 16, 2013
Read Next:
SPL roundup: Dundee United hit for six at Celtic
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2St Johnstone33007259
4Hamilton AcademicalHamilton32016336
9Ross County310235-23
11Partick Thistle300315-40