Oct 25, 2014 at 2.30pm UK at ​Olympic Stadium
Hertha Berlin
Hamburger SV
Ben-Hatira (60', 86'), Heitinga (66')
FT(HT: 0-0)

Muller (54'), van der Vaart (57')

Result: Hertha Berlin cruise to victory over Hamburger SV

Salomon Kalou of Hertha BSC celebrates with team mates after scoring a goal during the Hertha BSC v VfL Wolfsburg - Bundesliga match at Olympiastadion on September 24, 2014
© Getty Images
Hamburger SV suffer another disappointment in the Bundesliga as Hertha Berlin record a comfortable 3-0 victory.

Hertha Berlin have pulled further away from the relegation zone with a 3-0 victory over Hamburger SV on Saturday afternoon.

In a first half when defenders enjoyed superiority, a rare opportunity fell to Salomon Kalou, but the Ivorian was denied by Jaroslav Drobny after finding a yard of space in the box.

Hertha continued to look the more dangerous of the two sides as the interval approached, with Kalou heading a difficult chance wide of the target shortly before Drobny pushed away a long-range strike from Anis Ben-Hatira.

The visitors enjoyed a spell on top early in the second half, but their inability to turn pressure into an opening goal cost them as Hertha struck the crucial first blow.

Valentin Stocker created the goal with a fine run before picking out Anis Ben-Hatira, who used the space on the edge of the box to pick out the bottom corner.

The lead was doubled six minutes later when John Heitinga reacted quickly to fire home from close range after Hajime Hosogai had headed against the post.

Hamburger struggled to produce any kind of response to falling behind, and a comfortable Hertha victory was completed late on when Ben-Hatira linked up with Per Skjelbred before adding his second of the afternoon with an emphatic finish.

Schalke's midfielder Julian Draxler celebrates after scoring during the German first division Bundesliga football match against Eintracht Frankfurt on September 20, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Winning start for Di Matteo at Schalke
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen00000000
3Bayern Munich00000000
4Borussia DortmundDortmund00000000
5Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach00000000
6Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt00000000
7FC Koln00000000
9Hamburger SV00000000
11Hertha Berlin00000000
13Mainz 0500000000
14RB Leipzig00000000
15Schalke 04Schalke00000000
17Werder Bremen00000000