Aug 18, 2014 at 5.30pm UK at ​Stadion der Freundschaft
Energie Cottbus
Hamburger SV
Zeitz (10' pen.), Michel (105')
Mimbala (35'), Holz (44'), Michel (54'), Zeitz (60'), Kleindienst (102')
FT(HT: 1-0)
Westermann (70'), van der Vaart (96')
Adler (10'), Ilicevic (14'), Djourou (49')
Hamburger SV win 4-1 on penalties

Result: Hamburger SV need penalties to beat Energie Cottbus in DFB-Pokal

Hamburg's Rafael van der Vaart celebrates after scoring the equaliser against Schalke on August 11, 2013
© Getty Images
Hamburger SV reach the second round of the DFB-Pokal by beating third-tier side Energie Cottbus on penalties.

Bundesliga side Hamburger SV came out top in a penalty shootout against third-tier side Energie Cottbus this evening to reach the second round of the DFB-Pokal.

Home side Cottbus took the lead just after the 10-minute mark when Manuel Zeitz converted from the penalty spot after Rene Adler had brought down Fanol Perdedaj.

After peppering the Cottbus goal, Hamburg found an equaliser with 20 minutes on the clock through Heiko Westermann, who headed home Rafael van der Vaart's delivery.

That meant extra time and Van der Vaart put the visitors ahead six minutes into the additional 30 with a 25-yard free kick.

Cottbus responded well to going behind for the first time and were level just before half time in extra time when Sven Michel drilled low into the net.

Both sides pushed for a winner, but penalties would be required and in the shootout it was Hamburg who prevailed 4-1.

Hamburg's defender Heiko Westermann during the German first division Bundesliga football match Bayer Leverkusen vs Hamburger SV in the German city of Leverkusen on November 9, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Hamburg ease relegation worries
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen00000000
3Bayern Munich00000000
4Borussia DortmundDortmund00000000
5Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach00000000
6Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt00000000
7FC Koln00000000
9Hamburger SV00000000
11Hertha Berlin00000000
13Mainz 0500000000
14RB Leipzig00000000
15Schalke 04Schalke00000000
17Werder Bremen00000000